Portland, Maine: Maps, Folding and Eating Lobster

The Osher Map Library and Smith Center for Cartographic Education in Portland, Maine, has one of the largest collections of maps in the United States.  That’s what drew me to the city with the Boston Map Society.

We had a terrific visit to the Map Library where we admired the exhibits and treasures from the collection.

Afterwards, we headed to the King’s Pub for delicious beer and food.  A harbor cruise then a trolley ride to Portland Head Light House topped off the day.

Portland Head Lighthouse 5.23.2017

Portland Head Lighthouse 5.23.2017

 

I stayed overnight in a bed & breakfast inn not far from the Portland Museum of Art.  It was an ideal location.

The following day, I visited the museum and went on a special tour of Winslow Homer’s restored art studio and home on Prouts Neck in Scarborough, Maine.

Winslow Homer's Studio and Home, Maine 5.24.2017

Winslow Homer’s Studio and Home, Maine 5.24.2017

Rocky Coast in front of Homer's Studio, 5.24.2017

Rocky Coast in front of Homer’s Studio, Maine, 5.24.2017

I took the Amtrak train from Boston’s North Station to Portland.  A local bus from the Portland station took me to the downtown area.

Maine is a great place eat lobsters…especially if the lobster has been caught that day!

Origami Lobster 10.1.2017

Origami Lobster 10.1.2017

I was thinking about my weekend trip to Portland when I did this fold.

Can you believe it took me longer to fold this Origami Lobster than it did to shell then eat it?

How ambitious I was to think that I could fold this challenging design!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

