Happy Canada Day – Maple Leaf

Yesterday was Canada Day.   A shout-out to my Canadian cousins!

Origami Maple Leaf 7.2.2017

Origami Maple Leaf 7.2.2017

Since a Maple leaf appears on the Canadian flag, I decided to fold an Origami Maple Leaf.

But, the Origami model in the tutorial did not look like the eleven-pointed leaf on the Canadian flag.

The more I studied the Origami design, the more I wondered:

“Is this just a very, very stylized version of the Maple leaf?”

I asked Dr. Google and what I found out was surprising.

Turns out that most of the Maples are specific to Asia!

Sugar Maple Leaf and Origami Maple Leaf 7.2.2017

Sugar Maple Leaf and Origami Maple Leaf 7.2.2017

The leaf I picked up from the tree near my house is from a Sugar Maple.

These trees can be found in Eastern North America and Canada.  Delicious maple syrup comes from the Sugar Maple tree.

Its leaves turn magnificent colors of red, burnt orange, and yellow during the Fall season.

The Origami model I folded resembles a leaf from a Japanese Maple with five points.

There are many varieties of Japanese Maples – some with red leaves.

This Origami model seems to resemble the Coral Bark Japanese Maple.

 

 

One Comment

  1. Even though your fold is of a Japanese maple leaf, it reminds me of beautiful fall maple leaf colors and the delicious taste of real maple syrup on pancakes!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

