Get Your Sh*t Together…

Yes, that’s the real title of a DIY book.  Read it for laughs and tips on breaking inertia.

Sarah Knight, a Harvard educated, former NYC corporate executive, is the author of “Get Your Sh*T Together: How to Stop Worrying About What You Should Do So You Can Finish What You Need to Do and Start Doing What You Want to Do.

This book is about how Knight realized a “quit-my-job-and-move-to-the-Caribbean plan.”  The life-changing magical advice she gives boils down to three things:  strategy, focus and commitment.

How did I come to read this book?  A friend handed me a copy and suggested I read it – probably fed up with my complaining.  I’ve been in a total funk lately with EVERYTHING going badly.

Each Origami design I folded, whether from a diagram or YouTube, turned out disastrously;  case in point, the creature below which was supposed to be an Armadillo.

Money Armadillo. 3.11.2017.

Money Armadillo. 3.11.2017.

Trains I took were either cancelled or delayed.  On one rush-hour-packed train, a commuter broke out cursing loudly at the rudeness of others, voicing what many of us felt.

Once at the office, badly broken software and messed up computer server environments further delayed my work.

Career doubts, frustrating relationships, multiple missed meetings, lost cell phone coupled with sun deprivation from the New England winter only added to my misery.

And yet, after finishing this book and thinking of the grand scheme of life, things really didn’t seem that bad.  I just need to get my sh*t together!

 

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

