The Detective’s Hat or, Samurai Helmet Investigation

“Wait a minute,” I thought to myself. “I’ve folded the Samurai Helmet before.”

Of course I was quite mistaken.  The helmet from Taro’s Origami 365 was NOT at all like the Sumo design I folded over a month ago from the book  Traditional Japanese Origami.

This investigation prompted a side-by-side comparison  to prove that the angular-shaped models differ as did their crease patterns.

There were far more folds needed to create the abstract figure of a wrestler than the helmet.  This was quite evident from their respective crease patterns.

I read Robert J. Lang’s “Crease Patterns for Folders” and marveled at how his models are designed.

Leave a Reply

