Pochi Bukuro 1

I discovered a terrific website called the Origami Club with all types of  gorgeous shapes.  http://en.origami-club.com/index.html   Of course I was overly ambitious when I saw the beautiful designs and tried to fold a frog!  Ha…after one hour of massive failures in folding, I realized that this design was at the advanced level so tried to fold a box.  The box was at the neutral level and I was unable to do that fold..giving up a half hour later.

Determined to succeed folding a simple design, I opted for the easy level “Pochi Bukuro 1 (aka. A Congratulatory gift of money 2)”  http://en.origami-club.com/traditional/pochi2/index.html

It took me two hours to figure out how to get past the last step #11.  In this step, you had to fold one side inwards, creasing the other edges to get the desired shape.  Four attempts later, I ended up using a pen to slide the edge inward and hold the folds down as I pressed the pink paper  – more or less – into the final lopsided form.  What a challenge!  I guess I will stick with the “easy level” designs for a while!

Leave a Reply

